Acute pancreatitis

pancréatite aiguëDefinition

Acute pancreatitis is an inflammatory disease of the pancreas. There are two types: the first, benign, is edematous in 75% of cases and the second, necrotizing (15 to 25% of cases), is much more serious. In its necrotizing form, this disease causes significant mortality. The two main causes of acute pancreatitis are gallstones and chronic alcoholism.

Epidemiological data

It is a rare disease: there are 5 cases per year in France. It can appear at all ages. Acute biliary pancreatitis mostly affects women between the ages of 000 and 60, while for acute alcoholic pancreatitis, it is mostly men between 65 and 40 years old.

Symptoms of the disease

Patients with acute pancreatitis suffer, in 95% of cases, from intense and constant abdominal pain. They are often accompanied by nausea and vomiting, which rarely provide relief. Only the “gun dog” position - or compression of the epigastric region - can reduce pain.

Treatments

<br>• Drug treatment uses analgesics, sometimes morphine, to relieve pain and antibiotics to prevent infections.
<br>• Endoscopic and surgical treatment:
- for biliary pancreatitis, endoscopic sphincterotomy significantly reduces mortality. As for biliary surgery, it allows the complete treatment of the lithiasis ;
- for pancreatic lesions, surgery is contested. In the absence of infection, surgery is not performed, even if the patient's condition deteriorates.


English EN French FR

Pancréatite aiguë

pancréatite aiguëDéfinition

La pancréatite aiguë est une atteinte inflammatoire du pancréas. Il en existe deux types : la première, bénigne, est œdémateuse dans 75 % des cas et la seconde, nécrosante (15 à 25 % des cas), est beaucoup plus grave. Dans sa forme nécrosante, cette affection provoque une importante mortalité. Les deux principales causes de pancréatite aiguë sont la lithisase biliaire et l’alcoolisme chronique.

Données épidémiologiques

C’est une maladie rare : on dénombre 5 000 cas par an en France. Elle peut se manifester à tous les âges. La pancréatite aiguë biliaire touche en majorité les femmes entre 60 et 65 ans, alors que, pour la pancréatite aiguë alcoolique, ce sont surtout des hommes entre 40 et 45 ans.

Symptômes

Les patients atteints de pancréatite aiguë souffrent, dans 95 % des cas, de douleurs abdominales intenses et constantes. Elles s’accompagnent souvent de nausées et de vomissements, lesquelles soulagent rarement. Seule la position en « chien de fusil » – ou la compression de la région épigastrique – peut atténuer la douleur.

Traitements

• Le traitement médicamenteux fait appel aux analgésiques, parfois morphiniques, pour soulager la douleur et à des antibiotiques pour prévenir les infections.
Le traitement endoscopique et chirurgical :
– pour les pancréatites biliaires, la sphinctérotomie endoscopique diminue significativement la mortalité. Quant à la chirurgie biliaire, elle permet le traitement complet de la lithiase ;
– pour les lésions pancréatiques, la chirurgie est contestée. En l’absence d’infection, on s’abstient d’opérer, même si l’état du malade se dégrade.


English EN French FR