Anal Fissure

anal fissuresDefinition

Anal fissure is a benign condition : it is a 1 to 2 centimetre wound, a tear in the skin of the anus, which causes pain during and after the faeces are passed. Constipation, excessive contraction of the sphincter, poor vascularization of the anal area are the main causes.

Epidemiological data

Quite common, anal fissure generally affects adults and more particularly young adults. It is the second most common anal disease after hemorrhoids.

Symptoms of the disease

Burns or itching may be felt in the back of the anus, but pain during and after passing stool may be severe - much more intense than that of hemorrhoids - and may appear to be tearing. The anal fissure can also cause bleeding - sometimes heavy - in the stool.

Treatments

It is necessary to fight against constipation by drinking a lot and by having a diet rich in fibre (fruits, vegetables, cereals, ...).
To relieve pain, there are local anaesthetic treatments, in the form of ointments to be applied several times on the anus and at the entrance of the rectum.
If the pain does not improve, the wound oozes and does not heal, if the bleeding persists, the doctor should be consulted. He will prescribe treatment and, in case of failure, surgery will be necessary.


English EN French FR

Fissures

fissures analesDéfinition

La fissure anale est une affection bénigne : c’est une plaie de 1 à 2 centimètres, une déchirure au niveau de la peau de l’anus, qui provoque des douleurs pendant et après l’émission des selles. La constipation, la contraction excessive du sphincter, une mauvaise vascularisation de la zone anale en sont les principales causes.

Données épidémiologiques

Assez courante, la fissure anale touche en général les personnes adultes et plus particulièrement les jeunes adultes. C’est la deuxième affection de l’anus la plus répandue après les hémorroïdes.

Symptômes

On peut ressentir une brûlure ou des démangeaisons à l’arrière de l’anus, mais il peut arriver que les douleurs pendant et après l’émission de selles soient intenses – bien plus que celles des hémorroïdes – et donnent l’impression d’une déchirure. La fissure anale peut également provoquer des saignements – parfois abondants – dans les selles.

Traitements

Il faut lutter contre la constipation en buvant beaucoup et en ayant une alimentation riche en fibres (fruits, légumes, céréales…).
Pour soulager les douleurs, il existe des traitements locaux anesthésiants, sous forme de pommades à appliquer plusieurs fois sur l’anus et à l’entrée du rectum.
Si la douleur ne s’atténue pas, si la plaie suinte et ne cicatrise pas, si les saignements perdurent, il faut consulter le médecin. Il prescrira un traitement et, en cas d’échec, une intervention chirurgicale sera nécessaire.


English EN French FR