Condyloma

condylomeDefinition

Condylomas are skin growths located on the genital organs (in women, in the vagina, vulva; in men, in the urinary meatus of the glans, the penis sheath), in the anal region, in the mouth or throat. They are one of the manifestations of the human papillomavirus (HPV), a sexually transmitted infection.

Epidemiological data

It is a very common condition: more than 70% of adults have had condylomas once and, every year, 1% of young women aged 15 to 25 have them.

Symptoms of the disease

Be careful, it is a "devious" disease: you can be contaminated, be a carrier of it, without having any symptoms. These can appear several years after contamination, without causing pain. The only manifestation of the disease is the appearance of condylomas. There are two types of them :
• “acuminate” condylomata, also called “cockscombs”, which vary in size from a few millimeters to a centimeter;
• “flat” condylomas, pink in color and sometimes invisible to the naked eye.

Treatments

In 50% of people who have contracted this condition, condylomas disappear within a few months, without any treatment. For others, a drug treatment, in the form of an ointment, may be prescribed. It is also possible to remove these growths by electrocoagulation, laser or liquid nitrogen application.


English EN French FR

Condylome

condylomeDéfinition

Les condylomes sont des excroissances de peau localisées sur les organes génitaux (chez la femme, au niveau du vagin, de la vulve ; chez l’homme, au niveau du méat urinaire du gland, du fourreau de la verge), dans la région anale, dans la bouche ou la gorge. Ils sont une des manifestations du virus du papillome humain (VPH), une infection sexuellement transmissible.

Données épidémiologiques

C’est une affection très répandue : plus de 70 % des adultes ont eu une fois des condylomes et, tous les ans, 1% des jeunes femmes de 15 à 25 ans en sont atteintes.

Symptômes

Attention, c’est une maladie « sournoise » : on peut être contaminé, en être porteur, sans avoir aucun symptôme. Ceux-ci peuvent apparaître plusieurs années après la contamination, sans provoquer de douleur. La seule manifestation de la maladie, c’est l’apparition des condylomes. Il en existe de deux sortes :
• les condylomes « acuminés », aussi appelés « crêtes de coq », dont la taille varie de quelques millimètres à un centimètre ;
• les condylomes « plans », de couleur rosée et parfois invisibles à l’œil nu.

Traitements

Chez 50 % des personnes qui ont contracté cette affection, les condylomes disparaissent en quelques mois, sans aucun traitement. Pour les autres, un traitement médicamenteux, sous forme de pommade, peut être prescrit. Il est également possible de faire disparaître ces excroissances par électrocoagulation, par laser ou par application d’azote liquide.


English EN French FR