Alcoholic cirrhosis

alcoholic cirrhosisDefinition

Cirrhosis is an alteration of the normal architecture of the liver: it is replaced by nodules of abnormal structure which are separated by annular fibrosis. It can have complications, such as ascites, renal failure, digestive hemorrhages, jaundice, cardio-respiratory disorders ...

Epidemiological data

Chronic alcoholism is the leading cause of cirrhosis in France, it is responsible for 85% of cases of cirrhosis in men and 75% in women. The prevalence of the disease is estimated between 150 and 000. On average, 200% of people consuming more than 000 g of alcohol per day have cirrhosis after 50 years.

Symptoms of the disease

Cirrhosis is asymptomatic for a long time. It can be diagnosed during a clinical examination because of a combination of signs of portal hypertension, which causes bleeding, and hepatocellular failure in an alcoholic patient.

Treatments

• There is no specific treatment for cirrhosis, apart from alcohol withdrawal.

• With regard to bleeding, for patients who are already bleeding, the preventive treatment for recurrence consists of ligation eradication and beta-blockers.

• Other treatments are recommended for the different complications.


English EN French FR

Cirrhose alcoolique

cirrhose alcooliqueDéfinition

La cirrhose est une altération de l’architecture normale du foie : elle est remplacée par des nodules de structure anormale qui sont séparés par une fibrose annulaire. Elle peut avoir des complications, telles que l’ascite, l’insuffisance rénale, les hémorragies digestives, l’ictère, les troubles cardio-respiratoires…

Données épidémiologiques

L’alcoolisme chronique est la première cause de cirrhose en France, il est responsable de 85 % des cas de cirrhose chez l’homme et de 75 % chez la femme. La prévalence de la maladie est estimée entre 150 000 et 200 000. En moyenne, 50 % des sujets consommant plus de 150 g d’alcool par jour ont une cirrhose au bout de 20 ans.

Symptômes

La cirrhose est longtemps asymptomatique. Elle peut être diagnostiquée lors d’un examen clinique à cause d’une association de signes d’hypertension portale, qui entraine des hémorragies, et d’insuffisance hépatocellulaire chez un patient alcoolique.

Traitements

• Il n’y a pas de traitement spécifique de la cirrhose, hormis le sevrage alcoolique.

• En ce qui concerne les hémorragies, pour les malades qui sont déjà saigné, le traitement préventif de la récidive consiste en une éradication par ligature et fait appel aux bêtabloquants.

• D’autres traitements sont préconisés pour les différentes complications.


English EN French FR