Liver cancer

liverDefinition

The term "liver cancer" refers to tumours of different forms and locations. These cancers can be primary, i.e. the malignant tumour has developed from the cells of the liver, or secondary to a tumour, often pulmonary or mammary, whose metastases have reached the liver.

Epidemiological data

This cancer, which affects between 2 and 5 people per 100 000 in Europe, is more common in men than in women. In three-quarters of cases, cirrhosis precedes the tumor. Other liver diseases can also develop into cancer, including type I and III glycogenosis, acute porphyria or tyrosinemia.

Symptoms of the disease

• For primary cancers, any deterioration in the clinical status of a cirrhotic patient - for example, the development of jaundice, hepatic encephalopathy or digestive bleeding due to ruptured esophageal varices - should alert and trigger the search for hepatocellular carcinoma (another name for liver cancer).

• In secondary tumors, sometimes the patient has no symptoms and the discovery of metastases is fortuitous. But in general, there is a deterioration in the person's general condition that can be associated with pain in the right hypochondrium (part of the abdomen above the navel line).

Treatments

<br>• Surgery is the most appropriate treatment for hepatocellular carcinoma. But there are many surgical contraindications, which explains why only 5 to 10% of carcinomas are operated on.

<br>• Cyberknife® is a non-invasive health care system that provides extremely accurate radiotherapy. It can be used to treat fragile patients for whom surgical procedures are contraindicated.

• General chemotherapy is not very effective.

<br>• Chemo-embolization combines chemotherapy with a blockage of the blood that feeds the tumor. This technique reduces the volume of the tumour, which can then sometimes be operated on.

• For patients with a tumour of less than 3 cm, percutaneous injection of absolute alcohol into the tumour tissue is recommended. This method results in necrosis of the lesion.


English EN French FR

Cancer du foie

foieDéfinition

Le terme de « cancer du foie » rassemble sous un même terme des tumeurs de formes et de localisations différentes. Ces cancers peuvent être primitifs, c’est-à-dire que la tumeur maligne s’est développée à partir des cellules du foie, ou secondaires suite à une tumeur, souvent pulmonaire ou mammaire, dont les métastases ont atteint le foie.

Données épidémiologiques

Ce cancer, qui touche en Europe entre 2 et 5 personnes sur 100 000, est plus fréquent chez l’homme que chez la femme. Dans les trois quarts de cas, une cirrhose précède la tumeur. D’autres maladies du foie peuvent également évoluer en cancer, notamment les glycogénoses de type I et III, les porphyries aiguës ou la tyrosinémie.

Symptômes

• En ce qui concerne les cancers primitifs, toute dégradation de l’état clinique d’un patient cirrhotique – par exemple, l’apparition d’un ictère, d’une encéphalopathie hépatique ou une hémorragie digestive par rupture de varices œsophagiennes – doit alerter et déclencher la recherche d’un carcinome hépatocellulaire (autre nom du cancer du foie).

• Pour ce qui est des tumeurs secondaires, parfois le patient ne présente aucun symptôme et la découverte des métastases est fortuite. Mais en général, il existe une dégradation de l’état général de la personne qui peut être associée une douleur de l’hypocondre droit (partie de l’abdomen située au-dessus de la ligne du nombril).

Traitements

La chirurgie est le traitement le plus approprié au carcinome hépatocellulaire. Mais il existe de nombreuses contre-indications opératoires, ce qui explique pourquoi seuls 5 à 10 % des carcinomes sont opérés.

Le Cyberknife® est un système de soins non-invasifs qui administre une radiothérapie extrêmement précise. Il permet de traiter notamment les patients fragiles pour lesquels les actes chirurgicaux sont contre-indiqués.

• La chimiothérapie générale est peu efficace.

La chimio-embolisation associe une chimiothérapie à un blocage du sang qui alimente la tumeur. Cette technique permet de réduire le volume de la tumeur, qui peut, ensuite, être parfois opérée.

• Pour les patients ayant une tumeur de moins de 3 cm, l’injection percutanée d’alcool absolu dans le tissu tumoral est préconisée. Cette méthode a pour effet une nécrose la lésion.


English EN French FR