Videos capsules

What is this review?

It is a non-invasive exploration method that allows a first level of exploration of the digestive system, namely the esophagus, stomach, small intestine, large intestine and colon. If a lesion is detected, the use of conventional endoscopy, under general anesthesia, is necessary.

How does this exam take place?

It's very simple: the patient swallows the video-capsule, like a tablet, with a glass of water. It is essential that the patient is fasting and that he has first taken a preparation to clean the intestine. The path of the video-capsule through the digestive system, perfectly painless, allows the practitioner to visualize on his computer the images that it transmits. Indeed, sensors placed on the skin of the patient and connected to a small housing receive the images which are then transferred to a computer.

How do you evacuate the video-capsule?

By natural routes, in 24 or 48 hours, depending on the transit of the patient.

What are the particularities of a video-capsule?

The video capsule, which can only be used once, makes it possible to explore areas of the small intestine that have hitherto been very difficult to reach without any risk of infection. Its system is perfectly secure thanks to the indestructible plastic materials that contain the technical elements of the capsule, namely, the optical system, the electronic chip, the batteries

Is there a risk that the video capsule will get stuck in the digestive system?

The risk is extremely minimal, but it can not be discounted. If necessary, it is necessary to use an endoscopy to recover it.

English EN French FR

Les vidéos capsules

En quoi consiste cet examen ?

C’est une méthode d’exploration non invasive qui permet un premier niveau d’exploration de l’appareil digestif, à savoir l’œsophage, l’estomac, l’intestin grêle, le gros intestin et le colon. Si une lésion est détectée, le recours à l’endoscopie classique, sous anesthésie générale, est nécessaire.

Comment cet examen se déroule-t-il ?

C’est très simple : le patient avale la vidéo-capsule, comme un comprimé, avec un verre d’eau. Il est primordial que le patient soit à jeun et qu’il ait pris au préalable une préparation pour nettoyer l’intestin. Le cheminement de la vidéo-capsule à travers l’appareil digestif, parfaitement indolore, permet au praticien de visualiser sur son ordinateur les images qu’elle transmet. En effet, des capteurs placés sur la peau du patient et reliés à un petit boîtier reçoivent les images qui sont ensuite transférées sur un ordinateur.

Comment évacue-t-on la vidéo-capsule ?

Par les voies naturelles, en 24 ou 48 heures, en fonction du transit du patient.

Quelles sont les particularités d’une vidéo-capsule ?

La vidéo-capsule, qui ne peut être utilisée qu’une seule fois, permet d’explorer des zones de l’intestin grêle jusqu’ici très difficiles à atteindre sans risque infectieux. Son système est parfaitement sécurisé grâce aux matériaux plastiques indestructibles qui renferment les éléments techniques de la capsule, à savoir, le système optique, la puce électronique, les batteries

Y a-t-il un risque que la vidéo-capsule reste coincée dans l’appareil digestif ?

Le risque est extrêmement minime, mais il ne peut être écarté. Le cas échéant, il est nécessaire d’avoir recours à une endoscopie pour la récupérer.

English EN French FR