Fibroscan®

In which cases is Fibroscan used?

When the liver is attacked - be it alcoholism or hepatitis - its cells become fibrous tissue. The harder the liver, the greater the fibrosis. Until then, to evaluate the degree of fibrosis, a biopsy was performed, that is to say that a sample of the liver was taken with a needle. The results were random because they depended on the quality of the sample. Blood tests such as fibrotest could also be used, but in some cases are difficult to interpret. Now, we use Fibroscan which is a very reliable technology.

What is Fibroscan?

It is a non-invasive and painless examination. This innovative technology can determine the stage of fibrosis. The principle is as follows: it is to create, on the surface of the skin, a small vibration that spreads to the liver. With ultrasound, we measure the speed of movement of this mini-wave: the faster it is, the harder the liver and fibrosis important.

How is the exam going ?

The examination is done at least two hours after a meal. The patient is lying on his back with his right arm behind his head. The probe is applied perpendicular to the skin and the patient feels the vibrator, but it is completely painless. About twenty valid measures must be taken.

What are the benefits of fibroscan?

In addition to being non-invasive and can be done as many times as necessary, it is done very quickly in five minutes. As for the result, it is immediate. In addition, it can be performed during a treatment to evaluate its effectiveness.

English EN French FR

Le Fibroscan®

Dans quels cas utilise-t-on le Fibroscan ?

Quand le foie est attaqué – qu’il s’agisse d’alcoolisme ou d’hépatite – ses cellules se transforment en tissu fibreux. Plus le foie est dur, plus la fibrose est importante. Jusque-là, pour évaluer le degré de fibrose, on pratiquait une biopsie, c’est-à-dire qu’on prélevait, avec une aiguille, un échantillon du foie. Les résultats étaient aléatoires car ils dépendaient de la qualité de l’échantillon. On pouvait également recourir aux tests sanguins, comme le fibrotest, mais qui sont, dans certains cas, difficiles à interpréter. Désormais, on a recours au Fibroscan qui est une technologie très fiable.

En quoi consiste le Fibroscan ?

C’est un examen non invasif et parfaitement indolore. Cette technologie innovante permet de déterminer le stade de la fibrose. Le principe est le suivant : il s’agit de créer, à la surface de la peau, une petite vibration qui se propage jusqu’au foie. Grâce à des ultrasons, on mesure la vitesse de déplacement de cette mini-onde : plus elle est rapide, plus le foie est dur et la fibrose importante.

Comment se déroule l’examen ?

L’examen est réalisé au moins deux heures après un repas. Le patient est allongé sur le dos avec le bras droit derrière la tête. La sonde est appliquée perpendiculairement à la peau et le patient ressent le vibreur, mais c’est totalement indolore. Une vingtaine de mesures valides doivent être prises.

Quels sont les avantages du fibroscan ?

Outre que cet examen est non invasif et peut être réalisé autant de fois que nécessaire, il est réalisé très rapidement en cinq minutes. Quant au résultat, il est immédiat. De plus, il peut être effectué au cours d’un traitement pour en évaluer l’efficacité.

English EN French FR