Endoscopic retrograde catheterization

What is catheterization?

Endoscopic retrograde catheterization (ERC) of the bile ducts is a diagnostic and therapeutic examination. A flexible tube, endowed with a camera and a light at its end, is introduced by the mouth and makes it possible to see the contents of the bile ducts. It can also be equipped with forceps to take samples, put nasal drains or place biliary prostheses ...

In which cases is a CRE practiced?

CRE is used when ultrasound imaging is insufficient and direct exploration of the bile ducts is required. This is the case when we suspect lesions of these pathways, be they stones, cancer or pancreatitis.

What to do before the exam?

The patient must be fasting.

How does this exam take place?

This examination requires perfect immobility, which is why it is often performed under general anesthesia. The fiberscope, introduced through the mouth, can visualize the esophagus, stomach and duodenum. It can then reveal stones or strictures of the common bile duct, cancer of the bile ducts or pancreas, biliary cysts, parasitosis ... After the examination, the patient having undergone anesthesia of the larynx must not eat for two to three hours.

Does this review involve risks?

The two main complications following this examination are acute pancreatitis and septic complications.

English EN French FR

Le cathétérisme rétrograde endoscopique

Qu’est-ce qu’un cathétérisme ?

Le cathétérisme rétrograde endoscopique (CRE) des voies biliaires est un examen à visée à la fois diagnostique et thérapeutique. Un tube souple, doté d’une caméra et d’une lumière à son extrémité, est introduit par la bouche et permet de voir le contenu des voies biliaires. Il peut également être équipé de pinces pour effectuer des prélèvements, poser des drains nasobiliaires ou mettre en place des prothèses biliaires…

Dans quels cas pratique-t-on un CRE ?

On fait appel au CRE lorsque l’imagerie par échographie se révèle insuffisante et qu’on a besoin d’une exploration directe des voies biliaires. C’est le cas lorsqu’on suspecte des lésions de ces voies, qu’il s’agisse de calculs, d’un cancer ou d’une pancréatite.

Que faut-il faire avant l’examen ?

Le patient doit être obligatoirement à jeun.

Comment se déroule cet examen ?

Cet examen requiert une parfaite immobilité, c’est pourquoi il est très souvent effectué sous anesthésie générale. Le fibroscope, introduit par la bouche, permet de visualiser l’œsophage, l’estomac et le duodénum. Il peut alors révéler alors des calculs ou des rétrécissements du canal cholédoque, un cancer des voies biliaires ou du pancréas, des kystes biliaires, une parasitose… Après l’examen, le patient ayant subi une anesthésie du larynx ne doit pas manger pendant deux à trois heures.

Cet examen comporte-t-il des risques ?

Les deux principales complications consécutives à cet examen sont la pancréatite aiguë et les complications septiques.

English EN French FR