Fibroscopy

What is fibroscopy?

This examination is used to study the mucous membranes of the esophagus, stomach and duodenum (first portion of the small intestine that succeeds the stomach). To do this, a cable of a few millimeters in diameter - the endoscope -, equipped with an optical fiber and a light source, is introduced through the mouth. Some endoscopes have a mini-camera and are connected to a screen. They can also be equipped with pliers to take samples.

In which cases do we practice fibroscopy?

To detect ulcers, inflammations (especially when they are resistant to treatment), infections, hiatal hernias, tumors (esophagus or stomach), but also to identify the cause of gastric fluid reflux , abdominal pain, persistent digestive disorders.

What to do before the exam?

A blood test done before (one week before) can control the good coagulation of your blood. The day of the intervention, it is necessary to be completely fasting (not to have drunk, eaten or smoked 6 hours before).

How does this exam take place?

It is very often done under general anesthesia, but many doctors think that a tranquilizer should suffice. This exam - not very pleasant - is not appreciated, but it is painless. It usually lasts half an hour.
The gastroenterologist introduces the endoscope through the mouth, after placing an anesthetic gel at the bottom of the throat to facilitate swallowing. The endoscope will allow to visualize the walls of the digestive system (esophagus, stomach, duodenum).
Regarding the results, the gastroenterologist will make a comment on site and send a report to your doctor.

Does this review involve risks?

It can cause mild irritation of the digestive walls and swabs can cause small bleeding.
A complication, such as digestive perforation, is possible, but it is extremely rare.
In case of vomiting with blood and fever, it is necessary to consult without waiting a doctor.

English EN French FR

La fibroscopie

Qu’est-ce qu’une fibroscopie ?

Cet examen permet d’étudier les muqueuses de l’œsophage, de l’estomac et du duodénum (première portion de l’intestin grêle qui succède à l’estomac). Pour ce faire, un câble de quelques millimètres de diamètre – l’endoscope –, muni d’une fibre optique et d’une source lumineuse, est introduit par la bouche. Certains endoscopes sont dotés d’une mini-caméra et sont connectés à un écran. Ils peuvent également être équipés de pinces pour effectuer des prélèvements.

Dans quels cas pratique-t-on une fibroscopie ?

Pour déceler des ulcères, des inflammations (surtout quand celles-ci résistent au traitement), des infections, des hernies hiatales, des tumeurs (à l’œsophage ou à l’estomac), mais aussi pour identifier la cause de reflux de liquide gastrique, de douleurs abdominales, de troubles digestifs persistants.

Que faut-il faire avant l’examen ?

Une prise de sang effectuée préalablement (une semaine avant) permet de contrôler la bonne coagulation de votre sang. Le jour de l’intervention, il faut être totalement à jeun (ne pas avoir bu, mangé ou fumé 6 heures avant).

Comment se déroule cet examen ?

Il est très souvent pratiqué sous anesthésie générale, mais beaucoup de médecins pensent qu’un tranquillisant devrait suffire. Cet examen – pas très agréable – n’est pas apprécié, mais il est cependant indolore. Il dure en général une demi-heure.
Le gastro-entérologue introduit l’endoscope par la bouche, après avoir placé un gel anesthésique au fond de la gorge pour faciliter la déglutition. L’endoscope va permettre de visualiser les parois de l’appareil digestif (œsophage, estomac, duodénum).
Concernant les résultats, le gastro-entérologue vous fera un commentaire sur place et enverra un compte-rendu à votre médecin traitant.

Cet examen comporte-t-il des risques ?

Il peut entraîner une irritation sans gravité des parois digestives et les prélèvements peuvent provoquer des petits saignements.
Une complication, telle qu’une perforation digestive, est possible, mais elle est extrêmement rare.
En cas de vomissements avec du sang et de fièvre, il faut consulter sans attendre un médecin.

English EN French FR