Colonoscopy

What is a colonoscopy?

It is an intervention - under general anesthesia - that allows to observe the internal walls of the colon: for this, a flexible tube, equipped with a camera and a clamp for the samples, is introduced. The samples are then analyzed and biopsied.

In which cases does a colonoscopy take place?

To screen people over the age of 50 who have risk factors or characteristic symptoms, and also for those whose stool test is positive. If a lesion is discovered, colonoscopy can determine its degree of danger.

What should be done before the procedure?

First, you must refrain from taking aspirin during the ten days preceding the procedure. People on anticoagulants should report it.
In addition, two days before the colonoscopy, the patient must abstain from eating fruits, vegetables and fatty meat. Rice, pasta, fish and lean meats are allowed.
To clean the intestine, the patient must drink, two days before the exam, two liters of a drug that will cause loose stools. If the colonoscopy is done the next morning, he will have to drink a third of it after dinner. If it is scheduled for the next afternoon, he will drink it the morning of the intervention.

English EN French FR

La coloscopie

Qu’est-ce qu’une coloscopie ?

C’est une intervention – sous anesthésie générale – qui permet d’observer les parois internes du côlon : pour cela, un tube souple, muni d’une caméra et d’une pince pour les prélèvements, y est introduit. Les prélèvements sont ensuite analysés et font l’objet d’une biopsie.

Dans quels cas procède-t-on à une coloscopie ?

Pour dépister les personnes de plus de 50 ans qui présentent des facteurs à risques ou des symptômes caractéristiques, et aussi pour celles dont le test de recherche de sang dans les selles est positif. Si une lésion est découverte, la coloscopie permet de déterminer son degré de dangerosité.

Que faut-il faire avant l’intervention ?

D’abord, il faut s’abstenir de prendre de l’aspirine pendant les dix jours précédant l’intervention. Les personnes sous anticoagulants doivent le signaler.
Par ailleurs, deux jours avant la coloscopie, le patient doit s’abstenir de manger des fruits, des légumes et des viandes grasses. Riz, pâtes, poisson et viandes maigres sont autorisées.
Pour nettoyer l’intestin, le patient doit boire, la veille de l’examen avant le dîner, deux litres d’un médicament qui va provoquer des selles liquides. Si la coloscopie a lieu le lendemain matin, il devra en boire un troisième litre après le dîner. Si elle est programmée pour le lendemain après-midi, il le boira le matin de l’intervention.

English EN French FR